Search This Blog

Contact the Blog

Contact the Crewenews by using our form click here

Join me on the forum below as I am on the staff as Samuria 24/7/365 worldwide support all FREE

 PC Help Forum


Tuesday 16 July 2013

Laurie Twiss Awards for Journalism.

Reporter Jonathan White, Wistaston (photo by Jonathan White, words by Jonathan White and Eileen Bamber).

2012 Wistonian of the year Laurie Clough presents the prizes to Liam - Ella - Macy


The Laurie Twiss Awards for Journalism for 2013 were awarded, by 2012 Wistonian of the year Laurie Clough, to their talented recipients at the Wistaston Village Fete in mid-June. The winners were:

- First prize and trophy winner - Ella Banks

- Second prize - Macy Slater

- Third prize - Liam Prestwich

- Highly commended - Daniel Fowler

All prize winners received a book token, certificate and pen. The winning entries will be printed in a future edition of Wistaston Roundabout: .

Laurie Twiss was a popular and well-loved member of the Wistaston Community Council who for many years was editor of Wistaston Roundabout. When he died in 2002 it was decided to honour his memory by putting on a competition linked to journalism in his name. The Laurie Twiss Awards for Journalism are open to people aged 9 to 16 years old in our area and involves submitting a story or article of not more than 200 words. The writing can be real or imaginary, fact or fiction.

Please submit your entry by 31st May 2014 to one of the following:

- Barbara Brereton, 16 Prior Close, Wistaston, Tel. 569861

- Greg Brereton, 7 College Fields, Wistaston, Tel. 560194

- Eileen Bamber, 31 Broughton Lane, Wistaston, Tel. 569126.

No comments: