Search This Blog

Contact the Blog

Contact the Crewenews by using our form click here

Join me on the forum below as I am on the staff as Samuria 24/7/365 worldwide support all FREE

 PC Help Forum


Tuesday 9 September 2014

The 2014 Slazenger South and Mid Cheshire Tennis League Presentation Afternoon

Reporter Jonathan White, Wistaston

Congleton Lawn Tennis Club

The 2014 Slazenger South and Mid Cheshire Tennis League Presentation Afternoon (plus two tournaments) took place at Congleton Lawn Tennis Club - - on Sunday 7th September.

There were open doubles and veterans doubles tournaments, organised by John White (Wistaston) and Viv Gorst (Nantwich), involving thirty-two players from a variety of clubs. The open doubles tournament, for the Jane Astbury Shield, was won by Chris Jackson (Nantwich Farmers) and Emily Parker (Nantwich). The veterans doubles tournament, for the Tim Griffiths Shield, was won by Chris Raiswell (Wistaston) and Dave Clarke (Hartford).

Wonderful refreshments were prepared by June Bowyer and Marion Doe. The refreshments were followed by the presentation of trophies from the league competitions (see winners list below).

Local winners were Nantwich, Audlem, Wrenbury and Wistaston. Nantwich A won the Ladies Division 1 Summer League for the 31st time!

The Stonelake Shield Sporting Award was presented to Craig Robinson from Congleton Lawn Tennis Club for his sportsmanship which epitomises the best qualities of tennis in the League.

League Chairman Dave Clarke said, "I would like to thank Congleton for hosting today's event, the ladies who produced the fantastic refreshments this afternoon, and the league officers for their sterling work throughout the year. I would also like to thank all the clubs who attended and congratulate the divisional winners. We are grateful to Slazenger for their continued sponsorship."

The full list of 2013-14 winners is:


Ladies Division 1 - Nantwich A

Ladies Division 2 - Cuddington A

Ladies Division 3 - Audlem A

Ladies Division 4 - Nantwich C

Men's Division 1 - Congleton A

Men’s Division 2 - Hartford C

Men’s Division 3 - Hartford E

Men’s Division 4 - Holmes Chapel A

Men’s Division 5 - Holmes Chapel B

Mixed Division 1 - Congleton A

Mixed Division 2 - Nantwich B

Ladies Knockout - Nantwich A

Ladies Handicap Knockout - Holmes Chapel C

Les Hoff Men’s Knockout - Congleton A

Les Beckett Men’s Knockout - Hartford F

Jane Astbury Mixed Knockout - Congleton A

Dave Clarke Veterans KO - Nantwich A

Stonelake Shield Sporting Award - Craig Robinson (Congleton).


Division 1 - Congleton A

Division 2 - Nantwich B

Division 3 - Hartford

Division 4 - Cuddington C

Division 5 - Wrenbury C

Ray Jones Knockout - Hartford

Barbara Smith Knockout - Wistaston B


Division 1 - Congleton A

Division 2 - Hartford

Division 3 - Wistaston B

Division 4 - Nantwich C

Division 5 - Alsager D

No comments: