Search This Blog

Contact the Blog

Contact the Crewenews by using our form click here

Join me on the forum below as I am on the staff as Samuria 24/7/365 worldwide support all FREE

 PC Help Forum


Thursday 15 August 2013

Success of Former Mayor's Bursary Award


Willaston and Rope Ward UKIP Councillor Brian Silvester has welcomed the success of the Educational Bursary Awards he introduced. He said," The theme of my Crewe and Nantwich Mayoral Year during 2008-9 was Lifelong Learning, a cause close to my heart. Education can change lives for the better and I chose to launch the Scholarship Fund because I wanted as many local people as possible to have that opportunity. This financial assistance offered people of all ages the opportunity to realise their ambitions and fulfil their learning potential – it really was the chance of a lifetime. The Bursary allowed local people, who have left full time education and started their working life, to return to full time education and make their dreams come true. Altogether six Bursaries, worth each between £5000 and £7200, were awarded toward their university tuition fees and two of the mature students have graduated this year."

Former Mayoress, Sheila Davies said," I would like to thank all those who worked so hard to raise funds for this very worthwhile cause. With the match funding from partners Wulvern Housing and the Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU) over £60,000 was raised and that is a remarkable achievement."

Katrina said," I would like to say thank you to Councillor Brian Silvester  and former Mayoress Sheila Davies and all those involved in the scholarship programme, as this been a huge help in the progression of my higher education and in my future career in teaching."

Pictured is Katrina Morrell with Cllr. Brian Silvester, Sheila Davies, the former Mayoress of Crewe and Nantwich, and Katrina's parents Maureen and David. Katrina received a First Class degree with honours  in Early Childhood Studies from the MMU. She is going on to take a PGCE for a year and then she will teach in primary education. The other Bursary recipient to graduate this year with First Class Honours  was Mrs Christine Johnson.

No comments: