Search This Blog

Contact the Blog

Send your news and pictures to the blog here

Contact the Crewenews by using our form click here

Phone the Blog 0794-1728819

Join me on the forum below as I am on the staff as Samuria 24/7/365 worldwide support all FREE

 PC Help Forum


Monday, 10 September 2012

The 2012 Slazenger South and Mid Cheshire Tennis League

Reporter John White, Crewe

Open doubles tournament

The 2012 Slazenger South and Mid Cheshire Tennis League Presentation Afternoon (plus two tournaments) took place at Nantwich Tennis Club - - on Sunday 9th September. The two tournaments were open doubles and veterans doubles and involved forty players from a variety of local clubs. The open doubles tournament, for the Jane Astbury Shield, was won by Jeannette Walker & Damian Cookson. The veterans doubles tournament, for the Tim Griffiths Shield, was won by Lyn Wood & Simon Parker.

Rosebank Sports - - attended with a tennis clothing and equipment stall.

Wonderful refreshments were followed by presentation of trophies from the league competitions (see winners list below). Local winners included Nantwich, Tarporley and Hightown (Crewe).

The Stonelake Shield Sporting Award was presented to Linda Smith from Cuddington & Sandiway Tennis Club for her sportsmanship and attitude.

League Chairman Dave Clarke said, "I would like to thank Nantwich Tennis Club for hosting today's event, the ladies who produced the fantastic refreshments this afternoon, and the league officers for their sterling work throughout the

year. I would also like to thank all the clubs who attended and congratulate the divisional winners. We are grateful to Slazenger for their continued sponsorship."

The full list of 2011-12 winners is:


Ladies Division 1 - Nantwich A

Ladies Division 2 - Hartford B

Ladies Division 3 - Hartford C

Ladies Division 4 - Holmes Chapel C

Men's Division 1 - Congleton A

Men’s Division 2 - Hartford D

Men’s Division 3 - Alsager B

Men’s Division 4 - Nantwich D

Men’s Division 5 - Tarporley B

Mixed Division 1 - Congleton A

Mixed Division 2 - Hartford A

Mixed Division 3 - Alsager

Ladies Knockout - Nantwich A

Ladies Handicap Knockout - Hartford C

Les Hoff Men’s Knockout - Hartford A

Les Beckett Men’s Knockout - Alsager B

Jane Astbury Mixed Knockout - Nantwich A

Dave Clarke Veterans KO - Hartford

Stonelake Shield Sporting Award - Linda Smith


Division 1 - Congleton A

Division 2 - Nantwich B

Division 3 - Tarporley A

Division 4 - Goostrey

Division 5 - Acton Bridge

Ray Jones Knockout - Alsager A

Barbara Smith Knockout - Tarporley B


Division 1 - Congleton A

Division 2 - Congleton C

Division 3 - Goostrey

Division 4 - Hightown

Division 5 - Holmes Chapel C


Boys Under 14 - Hartford A + Hartford B

Boys Under 16 - Hartford + Nantwich

Boys Under 12 - Nantwich

No comments: