Search This Blog

Contact the Blog

Send your news and pictures to the blog here

Contact the Crewenews by using our form click here

Phone the Blog 0794-1728819

Join me on the forum below as I am on the staff as Samuria 24/7/365 worldwide support all FREE

 PC Help Forum


Friday, 7 September 2012

Duck Race

Reporter John White,

Duck Race 1st and 2nd prize winners

The Wistaston Memorial Hall & Community Centre’s 17th ‘Annual Charity Duck Race and Children's Model Boat Race’ took place on Saturday 1st September at the Joey the Swan Recreation ground in Wistaston. The event, which was sponsored by an anonymous sponsor, Wistaston Community Council and the Crewe Cine & Video Club, was officially opened by the Wistaston Rose Queen (Daisy Wybrow) and her Attendant (Emma Bishop). Members of the Hall's management committee organised the event. 53 model boats were entered into the Children's Model Boat Race and 800 duck race tickets (£1 each) were sold and entered into the Duck Race. All proceeds go to the Wistaston Memorial Hall & Community Centre, Church Lane, Wistaston. There were also fourteen stalls featuring local charities and organisations. Several hundred people attended the event, which took place in glorious sunshine. The Wistaston Memorial Hall’s committee sincerely thank all those who helped to make the event a success in many ways, which raised £750.

Here are the results in full:

Children's Model Boat Race (53 model boats entered):

a) Best designed children's model boat (judged by Wistaston Rose Queen, Daisy Wybrow and her Attendant, Emma Bishop):

1st – Harry Robbins with his Pirates' boat.

2nd – Natalie Rea with an Olympic Canoeist.

3rd – Imogen and Sophie Owen with Noah's Ark.

b) Children's Model Boat Race (organised by David and India Sloan):

1st – Charlotte Rea - wins £5, plus trophy donated by Herbert Locke MBE.

2nd – Jamie Birchenhough.

3rd – Hayley Rossiter.

Last year’s boat race winner - Daisy Taylor - was presented with a cup donated by Herbert Locke MBE.

Duck Race (800 tickets sold):

1st – No. 452 – Rawdon Jones - wins £100, plus trophy donated by Les Fothergill.

2nd – No. 431 – Josephine Kenyon - £50.

3rd – No. 118 – Mrs M Dodd - £25.

A special guest was Alderman Ray Stafford MBE.

Event organiser John White said, "This was another successful community enterprise for Wistaston. The Memorial Hall's officers worked so hard to run the event. People who visited were most generous to buy so many tickets. I was pleased to hear that the stall holders and charities did so well. The children were excited and enthusiastic to see their boats in action. It was a quacking great success."

No comments: